Author Avatar

How an instagram hashtag is inspiring thousands to protect the oceans

Posted by Samantha Wockner - 9th July 2019


If you follow artists and illustrators on Instagram, it is likely you’ve come across the #DrawThisInYourStyle challenge, where artists recreate others illustrations in their own unique style. 

Now the hashtag is being used to help bring to life a small, unique and unknown part of the ocean which is at risk from the mining industry. 

Discovering the Lost City 

In the middle of the Atlantic Ocean, over 750 metres below the water, sits a place called the Lost City. Discovered just 20 years ago, it’s called the Lost City because the giant chimney shaped hydrothermal vents make it look like an abandoned metropolis. 

Its discovery has opened up a new chapter for science, challenging what people thought about life on Earth. Some are even asking if it holds the key to where life started

But, the discovery of the unique ecosystems has attracted the interest of mining industries. 

The areas around the big venting chimneys also contain rare earth minerals. The deep seabed mining industry wants to scoop, dredge, and destroy places like the Lost City with gigantic machines that look like something straight out of a sci-fi horror film. 

All of the beauty the Lost City holds could be irreversibly damaged – before anyone even fully understands what is there. 

#TheLostCityInYourStyle Challenge 

Art has always been able to show the beauty and wonder of far away places. That’s why we put the call out to artists across the globe to help bring the Lost City and all its wonders to people everywhere.  

The incredible Quentin Blake (yes, the one who illustrated all those books written by legendary author Roald Dahl) and Charlie Adlard (best known for his work on The Walking Dead comic books) kicked off the challenge.

Charlie Adlard 
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/charlie_adlard/ 

© Charlie Adlard instagram: @charlie_adlard

Their creations show the beauty and strangeness of the Lost City. Strange animals with character and beautiful colours and formations usually hidden under the dark ocean depths.

Quentin Blake
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/quentinblake

© Quentin Blake instagram: @quentinblake

Quentin also depicts the looming threat of the deep sea mining industry. A drill cracking open the earth without a creature in sight. 

© Quentin Blake instagram: @quentinblake

Other artists also took up the challenge. Either choosing to showcase the beauty and the threat or focusing in on the magical place of the Lost City to inspire its protection. Take a look… 

———

Alain Bardet
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/alain_bardet

© Alain Bardet instagram: @alain_bardet
© Alain Bardet instagram: @alain_bardet

Bo Xu
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/boxudesign

© Bo Xu instagram: @boxudesign

Bryce Wymer
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/brycewymer

© Bryce Wymer instagram: @brycewymer

Catalina Estrada
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/catalinaestrada

© Catalina Estrada instagram: @catalinaestrada
© Catalina Estrada instagram: @catalinaestrada

Chris Riddell
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/chris_riddell

© Chris Riddell instagram: @chris_riddell
© Chris Riddell instagram: @chris_riddell
© Chris Riddell instagram: @chris_riddell

Claude Pelet
Website: https://www.cpelet.fr/

© Claude Pelet website: www.cpelet.fr

Daniel Frost
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/danielfrostillustration

© Daniel Frost instagram: @danielfrostillustration

Emma Shoard
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/emmashoard

© Emma Shoard instagram: @emmashoard
© Emma Shoard instagram: @emmashoard

Essy May
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/essy_may

© Essy May instagram: @essy_may

Fábio Moon
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fabiomoon

© Fábio Moon instagram: @fabiomoon

Gabriel Bá
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/gabriel_ba

© Gabriel Bá instagram: @gabriel_ba

Gael de Meyere
Website: http://www.gaeldemeyere.com/

© Gael De Meyere website: www.gaeldemeyere.com

Gemma Correll
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/gemmacorrell

© Gemma Correll instagram: @gemmacorrell

Guillaume Bianco
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/guillaumebianco

© Guillaume Bianco instagram: @guillaumebianco

Hubert Reeves
Website: https://www.hubertreeves.info/

© Casanave Reeves Vandermeulen website: https://www.hubertreeves.info/

Jan Bosschaert
Website: http://www.janbosschaert.be/

© Jan Bosschaert instagram: @janbosschaert

Johan de Moor
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/johandemoor4645

© Johan De Moor instagram: @johandemoor4645

Kate Isobel Scott
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kateisobelscott

© Kate Isobel Scott instagram: @kateisobelscott

Katharine Mary Hill
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/katharinemaryhill

© Katharine Hill instagram: @katharinemaryhill

Kristjana S Williams
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kristjanaswilliams

© Kristjana S Williams instagram: @kristjanaswilliams
© Kristjana S Williams instagram: @kristjanaswilliams

Lauren Rolwing 
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/LaurenRolwing

© Lauren Rolwing instagram: @LaurenRolwing
© Lauren Rolwing instagram: @LaurenRolwing

Marcus Walters
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/marcuswalters

© Marcus Walters instagram: @marcuswalters
© Marcus Walters instagram: @marcuswalters

Margaux Carpentier
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/margauxcarpe

© Margaux Carpentier instagram: @margauxcarpe

Max Gustafson
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/gustafson.max

© Max Gustafson instagram: @gustafson.max

Max Lewko
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/maxlewko

© Max Lewko instagram: @maxlewko
© Max Lewko instagram: @maxlewko

Nina Cosford
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ninacosford

© Nina Cosford instagram: @ninacosford
© Nina Cosford instagram: @ninacosford

Olivier Boiscommun
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/olivier_g_boiscommun

© Olivier Boiscommun instagram: @olivier_g_boiscommun

Pascale Hecquet
Website: https://www.grifagraf.com/

© Pascale Hecquet website: www.grifagraf.com

Pâté
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/pate_on_toast

© Pâté instagram: @pate_on_toast

Peyo
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/smurfs.official

© Peyo instagram: @smurfs.official copy

Sally Fisher
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sallyfisherart

Sally Fisher instagram: @sallyfisherart
Sally Fisher instagram: @sallyfisherart

Sam Dunn 
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/xsamdunnx

© Sam Dunn instagram: @xsamdunnx

Shoko Lee
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/shokoleeartist

© Shoko Lee instagram: @shokoleeartist

Tanya Saunders
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/makeandpaint

© Tanya Saunders instagram: @makeandpaint
© Tanya Saunders instagram: @makeandpaint

Tom Cole
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tomclohosycole 

© Tom Cole instagram: @tomclohosycole

Virginie Morgand 
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/virginie.morgand

© Virginie Morgand instagram: @virginie.morgand

Yan Le Pon
Website: http://yan-board.blogspot.com/ 

© Yan Le Pon website: yan-board.blogspot.com

Get involved

  • Draw the Lost City in your style, then post it on Instagram or Twitter using #TheLostCityInYourStyle and #ProtectTheOceans.
  • Sign the petition for a strong Global Ocean Treaty
  • Learn more about the campaign to Protect The Oceans